Batelco raced to the narrowest of victories in the second round of the 2017/2018 Bahrain SWS Endurance Championship

Less than two-tenths of a second separated the top three overall in the tightly contested three-hour event. Each of the leading six finishers also completed 128 laps apiece.

Mohammed Mattar and Khalied Alsaei teamed up in the winning Batelco kart to narrowly pip the Go Gosaibi pair of Abdulla Buhindi and Rashid Almuammari by a mere 0.036 seconds.

Taking third place overall just 0.186 seconds behind the victors were Ithmaar Bank, comprising Ahmed Ebrahim and Yousif Khamiri.

His Highness Shaikh Mohamed bin Salman Al Khalifa was on hand and he waved the chequered flag at the race’s three-hour mark. BIC Chief Executive Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa was also present, and together with his Highness Shaikh Mohammed, presented the winners their prizes at the post-event podium ceremony.

Aside from the overall classification, prizes were also awarded in three competition categories:

Pro Category
1 Batelco, Mohammed Mattar and Khaled Alsaei
2 Zain Racing 1, Raed Raffii and Mohammed Amin
3 Ice Racing, Ahmed Al Kooheji and Louis Skalski

Nations Category
1 Go Gosaibi, Abdulla Buhindi and Rashid Almuammari
2 Zain Racing 2, Khaled Abdullah and Najashi Rashdan
3 BeeSa Racing, Ahmed Bin Khanen and Khaled Al Zayed

Corporate Category
1 Ithmaar Bank, Ahmed Ebrahim and Yousif Khamiri
2 Redline Racing 2, Youness El Ouair and Bader Mubarak
3 Redline Racing, Paul Morris and Paul Lecaillon

Following Saturday’s second round, the championship’s third and final meeting will take place on February 9, and that will be a grueling 24-hour challenge.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.