Batelco Racing Drag 965 raced to an emphatic victory in the third and final round of the 2016/2017 Bahrain Karting Endurance Championship.

The meeting featured a hugely exciting 24-hour race held at Bahrain International Karting Circuit (BIKC) in Sakhir.

The victors were spearheaded by skipper Mohamed Mattar, whose teammates included Alban Verutti, Ramez Azzam, Florian Garcia and Saeed Almehairi.

Batelco secured first place after completing a total of 1,104 laps. Their victory earned them a clean sweep of this year’s national endurance season, taking three wins from three races.

Finishing as overall runners-up were sister squad Ithmaar BRM. Captain Ali Baslar, Khaled Alsaei, Abdulla Buhindi, Rashid Khalifa and Hussain Hassan made up their team roster, and they completed the event just one lap behind.

In third place overall were Zain Dangerous with the same total of 1,103 laps. They included team captain Khaled Abdulla, Duarte Lopez, Andre Caiado and Khalifa Alyaqoobi.

Aside from their overall victory, Batelco Racing Drag 965 also triumphed in the Pro category. Zain Dangerous were in second place to claim their second podium of the day, while Zain Racing claimed third.

Rounding out the Pro classification in fourth through eighth place, respectively, were BeeSa Racing, Ice Racing Team, Last Minute Racing, Fun Xtreme and Al Bayan Stallions.

Meanwhile, Ithmaar BRM added to their overall podium finish with a win in the Nations Cup. They dominated their category as they were followed 10 laps behind by Omantel Ozone from Oman, who comprised team captain Saleem Abdullatif, Faisal Al Raisi, Mohammed Al Kalbani, Mazin Al Salmi and Zakariya Al Ofi.

Pitstop Karting Team from Russia were third. Their squad featured skipper Kalinichenko Maxim, Osmanov Anvar, Nikolaev Dmitry and Danilov Novoruskky Nikita.

BIC MC completed the Nations category classification in fourth place.

Finally, BBK Racing clinched first place in the race’s third and final class for Corporate entrants. BBK completed 1,091 laps and they were led by skipper Nasser Al Alawi. Other drivers on the team were Faisal Al Shafei, Osama Al Buflasa, Ahmed Naqi and Hamad Mattar.

In second place five laps behind were Bell Racing 2 captained by Michael Aumento and including Olivier Jollin, Tom Cohen, Pascal Mathieu and Zaid Audih. Bell Racing 1 were third in the Corporate class, and they were comprised of team captain Stephan Cohen, Aref Yazbek, Mureed Nussair, Michael Chami and Roy Boutagi.

Completing the classification of Corporate teams were Texel Air in fourth place and PKE Racing Team in fifth.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!



Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.