The 2017/2018 Bahrain Drag Racing Championship roared into action over the weekend and there were plenty of thrills at the quarter-mile strip of Bahrain International Circuit (BIC) in Sakhir.

A total of 170 participants from Bahrain. Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the UAE and elsewhere flocked to “The Home of Motorsport in the Middle East” to take part in the most competitive drag racing series in the region.

Four homegrown drivers were among the winners in the car classes. They were Mohammed Bu Hashr, Nawaf Al Manai, Adel Khamiri and Khalid Saif.

Bu Hashr clinched first place in the Outlaw FWD category. He clocked a mark of 10.214 seconds in his final run, beating Jassim Qamber’s 11.675s. Ali Yousif finished in third place.

Al Manai won amongst the Super Street 6 Cylinder runners. He clinched the victory with a 7.735s run in the final where Sayed Yahya Sharf could only manage an 8.638s time. Ali Saleh was classified third.

Khamiri followed suit in the Street V8 class. His 7.891s mark beat the 8.093s of runner-up Jalil Abdulhussain. Mohamed Suliman came third.

Saif was victorious in the Outlaw 10.5 division. He beat Nabeel El Essa in the final, while Mohammed Qassim came third.

In the other cars categories, Hani Hashim won over Jameel Ebrahim in the Street 4 and 6 with Ali Abdulla finishing third; Jasim Zaman won ahead of Khalifa Al Ali in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder with Mohamed Khalid taking third; Mohamed Qasem won the Super Street V8 followed by Turki Khalid and Majid Al Harbi; and Hisham Al Mulla claimed first in the Competition 4.5 with Ahmed Al Jheel the runner-up and Ahmed Al Zaabi in third.

In the Pro Mod category, Turki Al Hamedu clinched first place with Khaled Alfowzan the runner-up and third going to Jaber Al Magrabi.

In the Index 10.5 class, Mohamed Khalfan was first; Hussain Al Hammad was victorious in the Index 9.5 category, and Mohamed Al Blooshi clinched the win in the Index 8.5 category.

Amongst the motorbikers, Abdulla Al Doseri was the lone Bahraini to ride his challenger to first place. Competing in the Pro Bike category, Al Doseri clocked a time of 11.636s to beat the 23.280s of Suliman Dawood in their final run. Fahed Khadada was classified third.

In the Street Bike, Mesfer Al Mesfer beat Mirshari Al Turki to the win while Yaqoub Al Ali was third; and in the Super Street Bike Meshal Al Saber claimed first ahead of Bradley Dale and Mohammad Borashed.

Yousif Abdulla claimed the win in the Street Fight Bike 9.50. Abdulla Ghuloom was the runner-up and Khalid Abdulkarim in third.

Following all the action, the winners received their trophies in a podium ceremony attended by officials from BIC and the Bahrain Drag RacingClub.

The 2017/2018 season is set to feature five rounds in all, to be held until March of next year. Round two is set from January 9 to 12 next year, followed by round three the very next weekend from January 16 to 19. The final two events will be another pair of back-to-back weekends, with round four from February 27 to March 2 and then the round five season-finale from March 6 to 9.

View Gallery

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.