Lewis Hamilton won the 2016 Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix in dramatic fashion on Sunday at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg.

An eventful final lap saw the reigning world champion capture the lead in the race’s closing stages after trailing teammate Nico Rosberg by a mere half-a-second.

Lewis Hamilton celebrates his 46th F1 victory
Lewis Hamilton celebrates his 46th F1 victory

Hamilton made a move for the lead on the inside line into turn one and looked to be cleanly past, but Rosberg turned into him and caused a collision.

Hamilton commented after the race: "I was surprised to make contact with Nico and then from there I just tried to push as hard as possible, passing him ahead of the next corner as he slowed due to the sparks coming off his car.

View best pics from Austria

Rosberg suffered a broken front wing but Hamilton managed to power on with the lead, and eventually took the chequered flag in a winning time of 1 hour 27 minutes 38.107 seconds.

Rosberg could only drag his car home in fourth place after being passed by Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen and Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen. Verstappen crossed the finish 5.719 seconds behind while Raikkonen was 6.024s adrift. Rosberg was 16.710s back.

Mercedes Executive Director Toto Wolff was later quoted as saying that the crash was caused by a brake-by-wire failure, although added that the collision could have been avoided.

Hamilton commented after the race:

"This is motor racing and the team allow us to race and it’s the aim for both of us to win races - this was just an unfortunate incident today. I’m looking forward to getting to Silverstone to catch up with my fans and hopefully I can get another good result there."

Rounding out the points finishers were Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo in fifth, McLaren’s Jenson Button in sixth place, Haas’s Romain Grosjean seventh, and Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz Jr. in eighth place.

Full Results

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1h27m38.107s
2Max VerstappenRed Bull/Renault5.719s
3Kimi RaikkonenFerrari6.024s
4Nico RosbergMercedes16.710s
5Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault30.981s
6Jenson ButtonMcLaren/Honda37.706s
7Romain GrosjeanHaas/Ferrari44.668s
8Carlos SainzToro Rosso/Ferrari47.400s
9Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes1 Lap
10Pascal WehrleinManor/Mercedes1 Lap
11Esteban GutierrezHaas/Ferrari1 Lap
12Jolyon PalmerRenault1 Lap
13Felipe NasrSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
14Kevin MagnussenRenault1 Lap
15Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari1 Lap
16Rio HaryantoManor/Mercedes1 Lap
17Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes2 Laps
18Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/Honda7 Laps
19Nico HulkenbergForce India/Mercedes7 Laps
20Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes8 Laps
-Sebastian VettelFerrariTyre
-Daniil KvyatToro Rosso/FerrariRetirement

The Formula 1 season resumes next weekend from July 8 to 10 with the 10th round of the championship at the 2016 Formula 1 British Grand Prix in Silverstone, England.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.