Lewis Hamilton stormed to the 50th victory of his Formula 1 career on Sunday after winning the United States Grand Prix in Austin, Texas.

Hamilton led Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg to an impressive one-two after 56 laps around Circuit of the Americas, where he has now won three years in a row.

Podium celebrations at the #USGP!
Podium celebrations at the #USGP!

The pair enjoyed a relatively comfortable race. Pole-sitter Hamilton had a clean getaway at the start while Rosberg was able to regain second position after losing it at the lights to Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo.

Hamilton went on to win in a total race time of one hour 38 minutes 12.618 seconds. The Briton triumphed for the seventh time this season and kept his hopes alive for clinching a third successive world drivers’ championship. It was also his fourth pole-to-flag victory in 2016.

Hamilton now trails Rosberg by just 26 points in the title race with three Grands Prix to go.

View best pics from Texas

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen were unlucky in the race. They were both battling for a leading spot on the final classification but were forced to retire. Raikkonen had a wheel problem after pulling away too quickly during his third pit stop, while Verstappen suffered a gearbox failure.

Following his victory, Hamilton commented:

“I’m delighted to claim my 50th career victory today, it’s been a long time coming, but most importantly it was great to have a solid race weekend.

“This race has always gone extremely well for me, but still, it was a massive relief when I crossed the line given my reliability issues in recent rounds.

“I was 100% clear on my start and I knew it was going to turn out that way. It was a nice feeling, especially after so many ups and downs, and I was able to control the race from there.

“It’s been great to be back here in Austin and the response from the fans has been incredible. The aim is to continue this form next week and I can’t wait to continue the Championship battle in Mexico.”

Full Results

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:38'12.618
2 Nico RosbergMercedes4.52
3 Daniel RicciardoRed Bull19.692
4 Sebastian VettelFerrari43.134
5 Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1'33.953
6 Carlos Sainz Jr.Toro Rosso1'36.124
7 Felipe MassaWilliams1 lap
8 Sergio PerezForce India1 lap
9 Jenson ButtonMcLaren1 lap
10 Romain GrosjeanHaas1 lap
11 Kevin MagnussenRenault1 lap
12 Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1 lap
13 Jolyon PalmerRenault1 lap
14 Marcus EricssonSauber1 lap
15 Felipe NasrSauber1 lap
16 Valtteri BottasWilliams1 lap
17 Pascal WehrleinManor1 lap
18 Esteban OconManor2 laps
- Kimi RaikkonenFerrari
- Max VerstappenRed Bull
- Esteban GutierrezHaas
- Nico HulkenbergForce India

The Formula 1 season resumes with the Mexican Grand Prix on October 30.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.