Lewis Hamilton raced to an impressive victor today at the United States Grand Prix and in the process helped Mercedes clinch the 2017 Formula 1 Constructors’ Championship.

Hamilton came away with his 62nd career victory, his fifth at the Circuit of The Americas and ninth of the 2017 season.

The result also earned the 75th Formula 1 victory for the Mercedes-Benz Silver Arrows as they sealed their fourth consecutive world title.

Hamilton won ahead of the Ferrari pair of Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

Hamilton (331 points) leads the Drivers’ Championship by 66 points from Vettel (265 points), with Valtteri Bottas (244 points) a further 21 points behind in third.

After the race, Hamilton commented:

“Firstly, I want to say big congratulations to everyone in the team - both back at the factory and here. There has been an incredible push for this kind of performance this year. We really pulled together more than I have experienced and seen over the last five years to create something quite special.

“I’m really proud for everyone, especially going from one era of car to another which is something that has never been done before. It shows the strength of the team and I’m proud to be part of it.

“The race was great, it was probably one of the most fun races that I have had for a while - and there were quite a few fun ones this year. I didn’t get away to a great start, but I was kind of chilled about it, knowing from the past that I can overtake here. I had a lot of fun trying to get closer and overtaking.

“Today the wind changed 180 degrees and it made the track so special to drive; the car felt amazing going through the Esses. We have three more races left this season - and that’s three I want to win.”

View pics from Austin

Race Results

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes33:51.0
25Sebastian VettelFerrari+10.143s
37Kimi RaikkonenFerrari+15.779s
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing+16.768s
577Valtteri BottasMercedes+34.967s
631Esteban OconForce India+90.980s
755Carlos SainzRenault+92.944s
811Sergio PerezForce India+1 lap
919Felipe MassaWilliams+1 lap
1026Daniil KvyatToro Rosso+1 lap
1118Lance StrollWilliams+1 lap
122Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren+1 lap
1339Brendon HartleyToro Rosso+1 lap
148Romain GrosjeanHaas+1 lap
159Marcus EricssonSauber+1 lap
1620Kevin MagnussenHaas+1 lap
NC14Fernando AlonsoMcLarenDNF
NC3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull RacingDNF
NC94Pascal WehrleinSauberDNF
NC27Nico HulkenbergRenaultDNF

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.