There’s no place like home for Formula 1 superstar Lewis Hamilton.

The Mercedes ace triumphed in this year’s British Grand Prix at Silverstone to claim his fourth win of the season and 47th of his career.

View best pics from Silverstone

An eventful final lap saw the reigning world champion capture the lead in the race’s closing stages after trailing teammate Nico Rosberg by a mere half-a-second.

Lewis Hamilton celebrates his 3rd #BritishGP win
Lewis Hamilton celebrates his 3rd #BritishGP win

Hamilton enjoyed yet another comfortable drive, winning from pole in a race held in mixed conditions and eventually in a winning total time of one hour 34 minutes 563831 seconds.

Max Verstappen of Red Bull Racing finished in second place. He was originally third, but a 10-second time penalty handed to Nico Rosberg hours after the race saw the pair switch positions.

“Best weekend of the whole year!” an elated Hamilton said after the race. “I couldn’t believe it started raining at the beginning of the race. I thought: ‘are you serious?’ " It makes it so much harder for everyone when that was going really slowly and my rear brakes were getting way too cold, so I was trying to heat them up and before I knew it I’m heading straight for the back of the thing! Thank goodness I could turn! Luckily it was okay and from there I was feeling great in the wet conditions.

"A huge thank you first of all to the team for doing such an amazing job. Our performance this weekend has been outstanding. The engineers and mechanics did a great job, so big thanks to all of them once again. And then the crowd... I mean, where do they all come from? It’s absolutely amazing! Nothing we see in any other country even comes close - and that for me just shows the passion us Brits have for sport, regardless of the weather. It’s pouring down and these guys are just like ‘yeah, we love it!’”

In fourth place was Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, fifth was Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen, sixth and seventh were Force India’s Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg, while Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz Jr. rounded out the top eight.

Full Results

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2Max VerstappenRed Bull8.25
3Nico RosbergMercedes16.911
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull26.211
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1'09.743
6Sergio PerezForce India1'16.941
7Nico HulkenbergForce India1'17.712
8Carlos Sainz Jr.Toro Rosso1'25.858
9Sebastian VettelFerrari1'31.654
10Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1'32.600
11Felipe MassaWilliams1 Lap
12Jenson ButtonMcLaren1 Lap
13Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1 Lap
14Valtteri BottasWilliams1 Lap
15Felipe NasrSauber1 Lap
16Esteban GutierrezHaas1 Lap
17Kevin MagnussenRenault3 Laps
dnfJolyon PalmerRenault15 Laps
dnfRio HaryantoManor28 Laps
dnfRomain GrosjeanHaas35 Laps
dnfMarcus EricssonSauber41 Laps
dnfPascal WehrleinManor46 Laps

The 2016 FIA Formula One World Championship resumes from July 22 to 24 with the Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix in Hungary. It will be the 11th round of the 21-race 2016 season.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.