Lewis Hamilton took his 54th Formula 1 victory today at the 2017 Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai

The Mercedes ace won ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, as the pair switched places for the first two Grands Prix of the new season.

With the completion of China, Formula 1 now heads to the Middle East for the 2017 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix from April 14 to 16 at Bahrain International Circuit.

Hamilton completed the 56-lap race in one hour 37 minutes 36.158 seconds. His win was the fifth of his career at Shanghai International Circuit and first of the 2017 season.

He also claimed the third Grand Slam (pole position, race win, fastest lap, leading every racing lap) of his F1 career.

Lewis (43 points) now holds a joint-lead in the Drivers’ Championship with Vettel.
Mercedes (66 points) lead the Constructors’ Championship by a single point from Ferrari (65 points).

Hamilton commented: “My pole lap put me in a great position and then the start was just fantastic. I’m really happy with my starts right now so I want to keep that up; During the race I needed to keep my composure in some really tricky conditions out there. After the pit stop under the Safety Car the speed was low and the tyres were very cold, so it would have been very easy to make a mistake, so I’m just grateful that I didn’t.

“In those final 20 laps Seb and I were just pounding around as fast as we could, exchanging fastest lap times, that’s what racing is all about. In the future there will be times when we don’t have a Safety Car and we won’t have that gap. I’m excited for that."

“It’s very close and there were times when it was hard to match Sebastian. It has been a fantastic weekend and I’m so grateful for the effort the team has put in for us to be where we are today."

“It’s very overwhelming when you have a weekend like this, because I’m just a single link in the chain and there are hundreds of people who are involved to put me up here on the top step.”


1Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES5637:36.225
2Sebastian VettelFERRARI56+6.250s18
3Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING TAG HEUER56+45.192s15
4Daniel RicciardoRED BULL RACING TAG HEUER56+46.035s12
5Kimi RaikkonenFERRARI56+48.076s10
6Valtteri BottasMERCEDES56+48.808s8
7Carlos SainzTORO ROSSO56+72.893s6
8Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI55+1 lap4
9Sergio PerezFORCE INDIA MERCEDES55+1 lap2
10Esteban OconFORCE INDIA MERCEDES55+1 lap1
11Romain GrosjeanHAAS FERRARI55+1 lap0
12Nico HulkenbergRENAULT55+1 lap0
13Jolyon PalmerRENAULT55+1 lap0
14Felipe MassaWILLIAMS MERCEDES55+1 lap0
15Marcus EricssonSAUBER FERRARI55+1 lap0
NCStoffel VandoorneMCLAREN HONDA17DNF0

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.