Lewis Hamilton led Mercedes to an impressive one-two victory today at the 2017 Italian Grand Prix in Monza

After securing his record-breaking pole position on Saturday, Hamilton charged away from the pack and never looked back as he clinched the 59th victory of his career, sixth this year and fourth overall at the Italian race venue.

The result also propelled Hamilton to first place overall on the Drivers’ Championship standings as the season now heads to its final seven races.

Mercedes’s Valterri Bottas finished second today 4.471seconds behind to claim his first Formula 1 podium in Monza. Chief title rival Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari claimed the final podium place 36.317s off the winning pace.

Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing was fourth, Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari fifth, and Esteban Ocon of Force India sixth.

Hamtilon commented after the race:

“This is obviously an incredibly exciting season; the last two races have been really strong for us as a team. The way things have come together in the second half of the season is exceptional.

“Today, the car felt fantastic, particularly on that first stint. As we had a bit of breathing room behind us, it was easier for us to extend the life of the tyres. Valtteri did a fantastic job to get through and get this one-two. It is amazing to have the first back-to-back wins in a long, long time and claim the lead in the championship.

“But the fight will continue, the Ferraris have been really quick this season, especially on the high-downforce tracks. It will continue to be really close between us, so it will be ’beast mode’ all the way to the last chequered flag.”

View pics from Monza

Race Results

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes15:32.31
277Valtteri BottasMercedes+4.471s2
35Sebastian VettelFerrari+36.317s3
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing+40.335s4
57Kimi RaikkonenFerrari+60.082s5
631Esteban OconForce India+71.528s6
718Lance StrollWilliams+74.156s7
819Felipe MassaWilliams+74.834s8
911Sergio PerezForce India+75.276s9
1033Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing+1 lap10
1120Kevin MagnussenHaas+1 lap11
1226Daniil KvyatToro Rosso+1 lap12
1327Nico HulkenbergRenault+1 lap13
1455Carlos SainzToro Rosso+1 lap14
158Romain GrosjeanHaas+1 lap15
1694Pascal WehrleinSauber+2 laps16
1714Fernando AlonsoMcLarenDNF17
189Marcus EricssonSauberDNF18
NC2Stoffel VandoorneMcLarenDNFNC
NC30Jolyon PalmerRenaultDNFNC

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.