Two races, two wins.

Batelco Racing made it a perfect two-for-two on Saturday after winning the second round of the 2015/2016 Bahrain SWS Endurance Championship, held under floodlights at Bahrain International Karting Circuit (BIKC) in Sakhir.

Mohammed Mattar and Khaled Alsaie were the victors as they came away with the narrowest of wins for the telecommunications giants. They finished the three-hour event a mere 0.095 seconds ahead of sister team and runners-up Batelco Racing Mechanics, who were comprised of Ali Baslar and Abdulla Buhindi.

It was the second triumph in a row for Batelco in the series, as they also won the first round held in November of last year.

Both top placers completed the endurance challenge with 137 laps apiece, with Mattar and Alsaie enjoying the slimmest of leads at the cheqeuerd flag.

In third place overall were the Zain Racing tandem of Raed Raffii and Saeed Al Mehairi. They completed the race just a single lap behind to claim the final podium step in the overall classification.

Saturday’s race took place with a record number of 27 teams taking part – the most for any SWS endurance race at BIKC. Teams were composed of a minimum of two and a maximum of four drivers, and they raced in identical 13-horsepower RT8 Sodikarts.

Aside from the overall top three, competition was fierce for positioning in the three different race classes.

Download Full Results

Professionals: 1 Batelco Racing (Mattar and Alsaie); 2 Zain Racing (Raffii and Al Mehairi); 3 Mahla EKT (Ramez Azzam and Hussain Hassan).

Nationals: 1 Batelco Racing Mechanics (Baslar and Buhindi); 2 Zain Dangerous (Essa Al Kooheji and Khalifa Al Yaqoubi); 3 ANL Racing (Alex Longden, Neil Harris and Lee Stones).

Corporate: 1 Menascope Ice Racing (Ali Dadi and Qamar Saleem); 2 BISB Menascope (Mohammed Al Waery and Ahmed Al Kooheji); 3 BBK Racing (Faisal Al Shafie and Nasser Al Alawi).

Women’s: 1 Mahla Angels (Shatha Alzadjali, Reem Al Qatani, Amani Al Tublani and Rana Fathalla).

The third and final round of the 2015/2016 Bahrain SWS Endurance Championship will be a 24-hour race, taking place March 11 and 12 at BIKC.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.