The FIA WEC Bapco 6 Hours of Bahrain is set to feature India-based championship the MRF Challenge as one of three support series racing throughout the weekend, and fans are in for a fantastic treat.

The MRF Challenge is the biggest winter motorsport series featuring Formula 3 style cars. It is an FIA (Federation Internationale de l’Automobile) sanctioned event which provides young drivers from across the world the platform to compete at Formula 1 venues and race against some of the top young drivers racing in Europe, Asia and South America.

This year’s MRF Challenge F2000 car will have a Hewland 6-speed sequential gearbox with integrated dash and paddle shift system. The car will also feature advanced aerodynamics with underbody diffuser. The car is powered by a 2 litre Mountune Duratec engine with max power of 230 bhp and shod on MRF Z.L.O. tyres.

In the past, the championship has featured second generation youngsters, who are trying to climb up the motorsport ladder. The past seasons have featured names such as Harrison Newey, son of legendary F1 designer Adrian Newey, and Mick Schumacher, son of 7 time Formula 1 world champion Michael Schumacher, Pietro Fittipaldi, grandson of Emerson Fittipaldi, leading woman driver Tatiana Calderon etc.

The MRF Challenge 2017 is expected to include a grid of nearly 20 cars for each round. The season will have four rounds with 16 races in Bahrain, Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Chennai.

Aside from the MRF Challenge, the other support series are the Bahrain-bred Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East, and the highly regarded World Series Formula V8 3.5.

Driver Line-up:
  • Nazim Azman (Malaysia);
  • Harri Jones (Australia);
  • Richard Wagner (Germany);
  • Robert Megennis (USA);
  • Henning Enqvist (Sweden);
  • Julien Falchero (France);
  • Daniel Nielsen Frost (Singapore);
  • Rinus Van Kalmthout (Netherlands);
  • Perdana Putra Minang (Indonesia);
  • Kurt Hill (Australia);
  • Dylan Young (Australia);
  • Alex Karkosik (Poland);
  • Michelangelo Amendola (Belgium);
  • Felipe Drugovich (Brazil);
  • Presley Martono (Indonesia);
  • Louis Gachot (France);
  • Manuel Maldonado (Venezuela).

Buy Tickets

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.