The championship battle in the 2017/2018 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East has gone down to the last round, setting the stage for an epic season-finale in support of the Formula 1 2018 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix.

A highly competitive grid of 16 drivers from all around the world has been confirmed for the year’s last two races.

The Porsche GT3 Cup is set to be one of two supporting series for the Bahrain Grand Prix, taking place April 6 to 8 at Bahrain international Circuit in Sakhir. The other is the FIA Formula 2 Championship.

It is the biggest and most popular one-make motor racing championship in the entire region. It has been the number one choice of the Arab world’s most promising circuit racing drivers to broaden their racing experience in a professionally run series.

The field of participants will be competing in three different classes this coming round. There will be two races in the meeting.

In the Gold class, there will be four participants including Glynn Geddie of Great Britain, Al Faisal Al Zubair of Oman, Charlie Frijns of the Netherlands and Daniel Lu of China.

In the Silver category, Team Bahrain’s His Highness Shaikh Isa bin Abdulla Al Khalifa and Shaikh Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa are set to fly the Kingdom of Bahrain’s flag in their home event.

Joining them in class will six others, including Khalid Al Wahaibi of Oman, Magnus Oehman and Christoffer Bergstroem of Sweden; Carsten Tilke of Germany, Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer of France and Saul Hack of South Africa.

Finally, the Bronze category will feature four drivers, including Ron Frijns the Netherlands, Mark Radcliffe of Great Britain, Mohammed Al Saud of Saudi Arabia and Michael Knutzon of Sweden.

There will be two races in the final round during the Bahrain Grand Prix weekend.

Buy Tickets

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.