Two new class records and a pair of hotly contested finals decided by a mere two-hundredths-of-a-second were among the many highlights during an electrifying opening round. American Gary White and Bahraini Salah Salahuddin were the two drivers to set new class records during the day’s events.


White, of E Kanoo Racing Team, set a new class record while competing in the semi-finals of the Super Street 6-Cylinder. The American set a time of 6.85 seconds with a speed of 325kph to register the new mark and to move on to the division finale.

Salahuddin, meanwhile, clocked a record run of 8.19s at 260kph during the first round of eliminations in the Street V8 category.

White was not able to capitalise on his good form and turn his record into a victory. White was beaten by Bahraini Nawaf Ahmed in his class final. Ahmed clinched first place with an 8.212s run, while White was unable to register a time due to car trouble.

Unlike White, Salahuddin raced on to the number one spot in the Street V8, but had to battle hard to get it. Competing against Kuwaiti Mohammed Sulyimam, Salahuddin won the head-to-head by a mere one-tenth-of-a-second. Salahuddin clocked a time of 8.202s down the strip, while Sulyimam had a mark of 8.322s. Adel Yousif was third.

Also claiming a narrow victory were White’s E Kanoo Racing teammate Khaled Mohammed and Zain Racing Team ace Mohammed Salama.

Competing as defending champion in the Pro Mod category, Mohammed kicked off his title-defence in style with a win by two-hundredths of a second against Kuwait’s Turki Alhumadi. Mohammed raced the final in 3.851s while Alhumadi trailed in 3.882s. Bader Koorshed was ranked third.

Salama won in the Competition 4.5 class with a final run of 4.502s. He beat Kuwaiti Salim Al Tamimi who had a 4.518s time. Abdulaziz Al Saleh finished third.

Elsewhere in the cars classes:

  • White was able to bounce back from his loss in the Super Street 6-Cylinder class with a win in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder category where he beat Yousif Al Zayani.
  • Mohammed Ali (10.395s) beat Adel Hassan (19.056s) to win the Street 4 and 6.
  • Mohammed Mubarak (8.801s) beat Ebrahim Mubarak (zero) to win the Outlaw Front-Wheel-Drive (FWD).
  • Saad Al Muran (4.729s) beat Talal Othman (6.587s) to win the Super Street V8.
  • Abdulla Oqab won against Abdulla Alsuri in the Outlaw 10.5.
  • Raeed Buti (10.603s) beat Hamed Al Doseri (zero) to win the Index 10.5.

Musfer Al Musfer won the Street Bike category after registering a final run of 8.263s to beat Bader Bin Edan’s 9.202s.

Mushari Al Turki followed suit, winning the Super Street Bike category with a run of 6.931s. He outduelled Bader Bin Edan, who failed to get a time, in their final.

Bill Vose clinched the Pro Bike class, run over an eighth-mile. He had a time of 4.087s, beating the 5.361s of0 Mohammed Burashid.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.