Nico Rosberg cruised to an impressive victory today to help Mercedes seal the 2016 constructors’ title at the Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix.

Rosberg started from the front and put in a flawless drive to enjoy a comfortable pole-to-flag victory at Suzuka International Racing Course. Teammate Lewis Hamilton finished third, which was enough to help the Silver Arrows claim the teams’ crown for the third successive year and with four races still to go.

Rosberg claims his first win in Japan!
Rosberg claims his first win in Japan!

Rosberg captured his ninth win of the season and 23rd of his career. He strengthened his grip on the drivers’ championship after extending his lead to 33 points ahead of Hamilton.

Rosberg crossed the finish line in a winning time of one hour 26 minutes 43.333 seconds.

View best pics from Suzuka

Max Verstappen of Red Bull Racing claimed the runner-up spot 4.978 seconds from Rosberg, while Hamilton followed 5.776s back.

Verstappen did well to fend off a late Hamilton push for second place. Hamilton had started the race alongside Rosberg in second position but had an awful start in which he dropped six places. Verstappen, who started from third, took advantage and managed to keep his place behind Rosberg through the race.

Ferrari pair Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen were classified fourth and fifth, respectively.

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo finished in sixth place, while Force India tandem Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg rounded out the top eight.

All starting drivers finished the race, which was only the seventh time in 952 World championship races that it happened.

Full Results

1 Nico RosbergMercedes1:26'43.333
2 Max VerstappenRed Bull4.978
3 Lewis HamiltonMercedes5.776
4 Sebastian VettelFerrari20.269
5 Kimi RaikkonenFerrari28.37
6 Daniel RicciardoRed Bull33.941
7 Sergio PerezForce India57.495
8 Nico HulkenbergForce India59.177
9 Felipe MassaWilliams1'37.763
10 Valtteri BottasWilliams1'38.323
11 Romain GrosjeanHaas1'39.254
12 Jolyon PalmerRenault1 lap
13 Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1 lap
14 Kevin MagnussenRenault1 lap
15 Marcus EricssonSauber1 lap
16 Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1 lap
17 Carlos Sainz Jr.Toro Rosso1 lap
18 Jenson ButtonMcLaren1 lap
19 Felipe NasrSauber1 lap
20 Esteban GutierrezHaas1 lap
21 Esteban OconManor1 lap
22 Pascal WehrleinManor1 lap

The Formula 1 World Championship continues on October 23 with the United States Grand Prix at Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.