Nico Rosberg started the second half of the 2016 Formula 1 season on a high today.

The German won the Belgian Grand Prix in style to revitalise his title fight after four successive Grands Prix without a win.

View best pics from Spa

Rosberg led from the very start and never looked back as he crossed the finish line a comfortable 14 seconds ahead of his closest challenger, Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing.

Rosberg wins in Spa for the first time!
Rosberg wins in Spa for the first time!

The result gave the Mercedes ace his 20th career triumph and sixth of the season. It brought him to within nine points of championship leader and teammate Lewis Hamilton, who finished the race in third place.

Nico Rosberg commented:

"I am so happy to win here in Spa at this legendary track. It wasn’t an easy weekend for us. We had to work a lot on the setup - but in the race it was perfect. The stints on the medium tyres were really good and I felt really comfortable at the start on the softs too. Our car was really great today, so thank you to the team for all their hard work in getting it spot on. It’s great for the team that Lewis was able to recover to finish in third place, so overall a great result for us."

Hamilton himself had a masterful drive, starting from the very back row but managing to claim a place on the podium – a massive jump on the final classification.

Force India pair Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez finished fourth and fifth, respectively, while Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, who collided with teammate Kimi Raikkonen at the very first turn on the opening lap, finished sixth.

McLaren’s Fernando Alonso, who was at the back at the start alongside Hamilton, and Williams’s Valtteri Bottas rounded out the top eight.

Full Results

1 Nico RosbergMercedes1h44'51.058
2 Daniel RicciardoRed Bull14.113
3 Lewis HamiltonMercedes27.634
4 Nico HulkenbergForce India35.907
5 Sergio PerezForce India40.66
6 Sebastian VettelFerrari45.394
7 Fernando AlonsoMcLaren59.445
8 Valtteri BottasWilliams1'00.151
9 Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1'01.109
10 Felipe MassaWilliams1'05.873
11 Max VerstappenRed Bull1'11.138
12 Esteban GutierrezHaas1'13.877
13 Romain GrosjeanHaas1'16.474
14 Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1'27.097
15 Jolyon PalmerRenault1'33.165
16 Esteban OconManor1 Lap
17 Felipe NasrSauber1 Lap
- Kevin MagnussenRenault
- Marcus EricssonSauber
- Carlos Sainz Jr.Toro Rosso
- Jenson ButtonMcLaren
- Pascal WehrleinManor

The Formula 1 World Championship resumes with the Italian Grand Prix in Monza on September 4.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.