Shaikh Salman bin Isa bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa, Raed Himmo and Ahmed Al Muyini were all big winners on Saturday in the fourth round of National Race Day hosted by Bahrain International Circuit (BIC) in Sakhir.

Shaikh Salman and Himmo shared the honours with a win apiece in the BIC 2,000cc Challenge, while Almuyini claimed a rare “double-double” after sweeping all the races in both the Bahrain Motorcycle Racing (BMR) 600 and the Bahrain Superbike Championship (BSBK).

All the action was held along BIC’s 2.55-kilometre Inner Track.

BIC 2,000cc Challenge

Shaikh Salman, driving a Honda Civic, won the opening 12-lap sprint in a total time of 15 minutes 45.420 seconds. Shaikh Salman was engaged in a heated battle with pole-sitter Raed Himmo, who was also driving a Civic. Himmo was made to settle for the runner-up spot 0.319s behind.

Nasser Al Alawi in a Honda S2000 was third 12.535s back.

In race two, it was Himmo’s turn to take the chequered flag, winning in 15:39.555.

Shaikh Salman was this time the runner-up 0.197s back, while Al Alawi clinched third place a distant 18.372s off the pace.

BMR 600

Al Muyini got his winning ways off to a flying start by claiming an impressive victory in race one in 12:52.590, despite starting from the very last row.

Pole-sitter Mika Perez was 0.512s behind in second place and Mohammad Adhan Al Zaidan 6.707s was third. All three were part of the BMR’s Super Stock class.

In the Hornet category, Pawel Rosciszewski, Ali Abdulhussain and Ahmed Al Hadad made up the podium.

In race two, Almuyini was again the victor in 12:54.520. Al Zaidan followed in 4.614s, while Fahad Al Gharbali was third 40.647s back.

Rosciszewski led the same trio in the Hornet class.


Almuyini didn’t miss a beat in claiming his other double of the day.

Al Muyini secured a pole-to-flag victory in race one in 12:51.852. Wesley Pearce came second just 1.661s behind. Dijon Compton came third 13.826s adrift.

In race two, Al Muyini clocked a winning mark of 12:53.350, with Pearce a mere 0.578s back as runner-up and Salman Khalaf 1.507s off the pace in third place.

Meanwhile, there was also action in the Bahrain Supersport Championship (BSSP) 125.

Hussain Al Aswad topped the lone eight-lap race in 13:08.956. He won ahead of Georges Mokbel who was 1.312s behind, while Yusuf Qaed came third 21.052s back.

View Gallery

Interested in joining us at the next round? Get your tickets here —>

Buy Tickets

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.