Porsche Team were named the winners of the 6 Hours of Silverstone in the UK on Sunday, held as the season-opening round of the 2016 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC).

The defending world champions took home the maximum points despite crossing the finish line behind rivals Audi Sport Team Joest.

Start FIA WEC 6 Hours of Silverstone
Start FIA WEC 6 Hours of Silverstone

However, post-race scrutineering revealed that Audi’s winning no. 7 car was not in compliance with a Le Mans Prototype 1 (LMP1) Technical Regulation (thickness of the front skid block), and the Stewards of the Meeting decided to exclude the car from the race.

Audi has lodged an appeal against the decision.

Porsche’s no. 2 919 Hybrid, driven by Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb was therefore declared the winner.

Following the decision, the no. 6 Toyota Gazoo Racing of Stephane Sarrazin, Mike Conway and Kamui Kobayashi was promoted to the runner-up spot. Rebellion

Racing ’s no. 13 R-One car of Matheo Tuscher, Dominik Kraihamer and Alexandre Imperatori claimed the last podium step for third overall.
The three best teams were also part of the LMP1 class’ top trio.

View 6 Hours of Silverstone photo gallery

Other class winners

  • LMP2: RGR Sport by Morand, no. 43 Ligier JS P2–Nissan, driven by Ricardo Gonzalez, Filipe Albuquerque and Bruno Senna
  • LMGTE Pro: AF Corse, no. 71 Ferrari 488 GTE, Davide Rigon and Sam Bird
  • LMGTE Am: AF Corse, no. 83 Ferrari F458 Italia, Francoise Perrodo, Emmanuel Collard and Rui Aguas.

The 2016 WEC season resumes with the WEC 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on May 7. This year’s championship features nine rounds in all, with Bahrain International Circuit hosting the ninth and final meeting on November 19 later this year.

Full Results

1LMP1R.Dumas, N.Jani, M.LiebPorsche TeamPorsche6h01m53.028s
2LMP1S.Sarrazin, M.Conway, K.KobayashiToyota Gazoo RacingToyota1 Lap
3LMP1M.Tuscher, D.Kraihamer, A.ImperatoriRebellion RacingRebellion/AER11 Laps
4LMP1N.Prost, N.Piquet Jr., N.HeidfeldRebellion RacingRebellion/AER13 Laps
5LMP2R.Gonzalez, F.Albuquerque, B.SennaRGR Sport by MorandLigier/Nissan15 Laps
6LMP2R.Dalziel, L.Derani, C.CummingExtreme Speed MotorsportsLigier/Nissan15 Laps
7LMP2R.Rusinov, N.Berthon, R.RastG-Drive RacingORECA/Nissan15 Laps
8LMP2G.Menezes, N.Lapierre, S.RichelmiSignatech AlpineAlpine/Nissan16 Laps
9LMP2N.Leventis, D.Watts, J.KaneStrakka RacingGibson/Nissan17 Laps
10LMP2M.Rao, R.Bradley, R.MerhiManorORECA/Nissan17 Laps
11LMP2D.Cheng, H-Pin Tung, N.PanciaticiBaxi DC Racing AlpineAlpine/Nissan18 Laps
12LMP2V.Petrov, K.Ladygin, V.ShaytarSMP RacingBR Engineering/Nissan18 Laps
13LMP2S.Sharp, E.Brown, J.van OverbeekExtreme Speed MotorsportsLigier/Nissan19 Laps
14LMP1S.Trummer, O.Webb, J.RossiterByKOLLES Racing TeamCLM/AER22 Laps
15LMP2N.Minassian, M.MedianiSMP RacingBR Engineering/Nissan23 Laps
16LMP1A.Davidson, S.Buemi, K.NakajimaToyota Gazoo RacingToyota24 Laps
17GTE ProD.Rigon, S.BirdAF CorseFerrari27 Laps
18GTE ProG.Bruni, J.CaladoAF CorseFerrari28 Laps
19GTE ProN.Thiim, M.Sorensen, D.TurnerAston Martin RacingAston Martin28 Laps
20GTE ProM.Franchitti, A.Priaulx, H.TincknellFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord29 Laps
21GTE ProB.Johnson, S.Mucke, O.PlaFord Chip Ganassi Team UKFord29 Laps
22GTE AmF.Perrodo, E.Collard, R.AguasAF CorseFerrari31 Laps
23GTE AmP.D.Lana, P.Lamy, M.LaudaAston Martin RacingAston Martin32 Laps
24GTE AmY.Yamagishi, P.Ragues, P.RubertiLarbre CompetitionChevrolet33 Laps
25GTE ProR.Lietz, M.ChristensenDempsey-Proton RacingPorsche40 Laps
26GTE AmC.Ried, W.Henzler, J.CamathiasKCMGPorsche40 Laps
27GTE AmK.Al Qubaisi, D.Hansson, K.BachlerAbu Dhabi-Proton RacingPorsche41 Laps
-LMP1M.Fassler, A.Lotterer, B.TreluyerAudi Sport Team JoestAudiDisqualified
-GTE ProR.Stanaway, F.ReesAston Martin RacingAston MartinRetirement
-LMP2T.Graves, W.Stevens, J.JakesManorORECA/NissanRetirement
-LMP1T.Bernhard, M.Webber, B.HartleyPorsche TeamPorscheRetirement
-LMP1L.di Grassi, L.Duval, O.JarvisAudi Sport Team JoestAudiRetirement
-GTE AmM.Wainwright, A.Carroll, B.BarkerGulf RacingPorscheRetirement

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.