Toyota Gazoo Racing shone brightest under the stars tonight in winning this year’s hugely exciting FIA WEC Bapco 6 Hours of Bahrain

Sebastien Buemi was behind the wheel of Toyota’s no. 8 TS050 Hybrid as it crossed the finish line for the final chequered flag of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC).

Buemi shared duties in the car with teammates Anthony Davidson and Kazuki Nakajima, and they completed the endurance challenge with a total of 199 laps around BIC’s 5.412-kilometre track. They enjoyed an incident-free race, allowing them to take over as leaders in the first hour and never looking back.

It was the third successive victory for the in-form trio as they end this year’s WEC campaign with five wins in all.

Presenting Toyota Gazoo Racing the overall winners’ trophy was Bapco Deputy CEO Ebrahim Taleb. Also on hand at the podium ceremony were FIA World Motorsport Council Member, Commission Internationale de Karting President and Bahrain Motor Federation President Shaikh Abdulla bin Isa Al Khalifa; BIC Chairman of the Board Arif Rahimi; and FIA President of the Endurance Commission Sir Lindsay Owen Jones.

World champions Porsche followed in second and third place, respectively. The double podium was a fitting farewell to the team in what was their final race in the WEC’s Le Mans Prototype (LMP) category. The German manufacturers announced previously that they would be withdrawing from the series’ premier class at the season’s end.

Their no. 2 drivers’ title-winning 919 Hybrid of Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber and Brendon Hartley were the overall runners-up. They were one lap behind the winning Toyota but were also 46.641 seconds ahead of Porsche teammates and pole-sitters Neel Jani, Nick Tandy and Andre Lotterer, who had to settle for third.

Toyota’s no. 7 challenger driven by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez was classified fourth overall, three laps behind their top-ranked teammates. They completed the overall classification in the LMP1 class.

Podium Placers

1 Vaillant Rebellion (Bruno Senna, Julien Canal and Nicolas Prost) Oreca 07-Gibson
2 Jackie Chan DC Racing (Ho-Pin Tung, Oliver Jarvis and Thomas Laurent) Oreca 07-Gibson
3 Vaillant Rebellion (Mathias Beche, David Heinemeier Hansson and Nelson Piquet Jr)


1 AF Corse (Sam Bird and Davide Rigon) Ferrari 488 GTE
2 AF Corse (James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi) Ferrari 488 GTE
3 Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK (Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell) Ford GT


1 Aston Martin Racing (Pedro Lamy, Mathias Lauda and Paul Dalla Lana) Aston Martin Vantage
2 Clearwater Racing (Matthew Griffin, Keita Sawa and Weng Sun Mok0 Ferrari 488 GTE
3 Spirit of Race (Miguel Molina, Francesco Castellacci and Thomas Flohr) Ferrari 488 GTE

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.