Max Verstappen became Formula 1’s youngest-ever race winner on Sunday following a sensational triumph at the Spanish Grand Prix in Barcelona.

Verstappen’s historic feat came on his debut with Red Bull Racing after being promoted from sister squad Toro Rosso only a few days earlier.

Max Verstappen, winner of the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix
Max Verstappen, winner of the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix

The 18-year-old Dutchman, who is the son of former F1 driver Jos Verstappen, managed to stave off a hard challenge from Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen to take the chequered flag by a mere 0.616 seconds. They were joined on the podium by Raikonen’s teammate Sebastian Vettel who finished 5.581s behind.

Verstappen’s Red Bull partner Daniel Ricciardo was fourth, Williams’ Valtteri Bottas fifth and his former Toro Rosso teammate Carlos Sainz Jr claimed sixth place.

The Spanish Grand Prix kicked off in stunning fashion, with race leaders Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton of world champions Mercedes crashing out together on the very first lap.

View Spanish GP Best Pics

“It’s a very special feeling,” said Verstappen of his victory. “Of course I didn’t expect to win; after the Mercedes pair crashed then you’re targeting a podium, but in the end to come out on top, it’s incredible.

“To hear the Dutch national anthem for the first time in Formula One, I have to think about my dad for sure and I heard he was crying, so yeah it’s unbelievable. He invested a lot of time in me and this achievement is also because of him.

“I wasn’t nervous during the race, I was just trying to focus and drive the best I could. We focused a lot on keeping the tyres alive because at my last stop I still had to do 32 laps until the end, but it worked out well!

Full Results

1Max VerstappenRed Bull/Renault661h 41:40.017
2Kimi RaikkonenFerrari660.616
3Sebastian VettelFerrari665.581
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull/Renault6643.95
5Valtteri BottasWilliams/Mercedes6645.271
6Carlos SainzToro Rosso/Ferrari6601:01.4
7Sergio PerezForce India/Mercedes6601:19.5
8Felipe MassaWilliams/Mercedes6601:20.7
9Jenson ButtonMcLaren/Honda651 Lap
10Daniil KvyatToro Rosso/Ferrari651 Lap
11Esteban GutierrezHaas/Ferrari651 Lap
12Marcus EricssonSauber/Ferrari651 Lap
13Jolyon PalmerRenault651 Lap
14Felipe NasrSauber/Ferrari651 Lap
15Kevin MagnussenRenault651 Lap
16Pascal WehrleinManor/Mercedes651 Lap
17Rio HaryantoManor/Mercedes651 Lap
-Romain GrosjeanHaas/Ferrari56Brakes
-Fernando AlonsoMcLaren/Honda45Power Unit
-Nico HulkenbergForce India/Mercedes20Oil leak
-Lewis HamiltonMercedes0Collision
-Nico RosbergMercedes0Collision

The Formula 1 season resumes with the Monaco Grand Prix on May 29.

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.