Sebastian Vettel was on the winning end of a Ferrari one-two today at an exciting Monaco Grand Prix, round six of the 2017 FIA Formula 1 World Championship

Vettel raced to victory after gaining the lead from teammate and pole-sitter Kimi Raikkonen through the lone round of pit-stops.

Vettel eventually took the chequered flag in a total winning time of 1 hour 44 minutes 44.340 seconds. Raikkonen finished 3.145s behind, while Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing took the final podium place 3.745s back.

Valtteri Bottas of Mercedes finished fourth, Max Verstappen of Red Bull was fifth, Carlos Sainz of Toro Rosso came sixth and Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes seventh while Romain Grosjean of Haas rounded out the top eight.

With the result, Vettel became the first Ferrari driver to win in Monaco since Michael Schumacher in 2001.

After the race, Vettel commented:

“It’s an incredible day.

It was fantastic to be in the lead and win the race. There was a lot of adrenaline during those laps but in general I could control the race. It sure helps to be the leading car, without any traffic, so that you get better into the rhythm. Once I had new tires, again I was able to control the position.

We had the chance this weekend to finish first and second and that’s what the team did. It’s great to see what we were able to do. Today the team gained a lot of points. It’s been a while since Ferrari won here so it’s a great day. I really enjoyed driving for the team. It is great to work together, we try to push each other and the best thing is to see that the team keeps growing."

The season resumes on June 11 with the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal.

View pics from Monaco

Race Results

15Sebastian VettelFerrari7844:44.325
27Kimi RaikkonenFerrari78+3.145s18
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing78+3.745s15
477Valtteri BottasMercedes78+5.517s12
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing78+6.199s10
655Carlos SainzToro Rosso78+12.038s8
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes78+15.801s6
88Romain GrosjeanHaas78+18.150s4
919Felipe MassaWilliams78+19.445s2
1020Kevin MagnussenHaas78+21.443s1
1130Jolyon PalmerRenault78+22.737s0
1231Esteban OconForce India78+23.725s0
1311Sergio PerezForce India78+49.089s0
1426Daniil KvyatToro Rosso71DNF0
1518Lance StrollWilliams71DNF0
NC2Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren66DNF0
NC9Marcus EricssonSauber63DNF0
NC22Jenson ButtonMcLaren57DNF0
NC94Pascal WehrleinSauber57DNF0
NC27Nico HulkenbergRenault15DNF0

Don't miss any news, subscribe to our RSS news feed!


Let's Keep In Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates on circuit news, exclusive offers, upcoming events and so much more! It’s the ultimate guide to everything going on at Bahrain International Circuit.