WEC 8 Hours of Bahrain

FIA World Endurance Championship

The pinnacle of endurance racing comes to BIC every year in the form of the World Endurance Championship

View More


The most professional and successful one-make GT series in the region

View More
Buy Tickets

BIC awards season’s champions in 2,000cc and karting

BIC, “The Home of Motorsport in the Middle East”, honoured on Saturday night the champions of the past racing year in an end-of-season awards ceremony held at the circuit premises in Sakhir.

Amongst those celebrated were the winners of the 2017/2018 BIC 2,000cc Challenge as well as the 2017/2018 Bahrain Karting Championships.

BIC Chief Executive Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa attended the event. Shaikh Salman thanked all those who participated in both the 2,000cc and karting, and praised the winners for their title triumphs. He also expressed his appreciation to all those who contributed to the season’s success.

Shaikh Salman added that he is already looking forward to even greater action and excitement in the new campaign to come, which gets underway this October following the summer break.

Also in attendance at the ceremony were high-ranking officials from BIC, the Bahrain Motor Federation, Circuit Racing Club and Bahrain International Karting Circuit. Together with Shaikh Salman, they handed out a number of glittering trophies to the season’s newly crowned champions.

Receiving the top prize in the BIC 2,000cc Challenge was overall winner Raed Himmo. He claimed his title driving his Honda CIVIC. Himmo also claimed a prize for achieving the Most Pole Positions, having clinched four of a possible seven.

Finishing right behind him as the season’s runner-up was Nasser Al Alawi, who competed in a Honda S2000, while in third place was Ahmed bin Khanen, who also drove a CIVIC.

Former 2,000cc champion Shaikh Salman bin Isa bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa took home an award for posting the Season’s Fastest Lap of 1min 16.325secs around BIC’s 2.55-kilometre Inner Track. A final 2,000cc accolade was presented to Majed Himmo, who clinched the Rookie Cup.

Meanwhile, the Bahrain Karting Championships featured winners in two different series, namely in endurance and in sprint.

In the Bahrain Karting Endurance Championship, Batelco Racing were the big winners having finished in first place overall amongst all participating teams. Go Gosaibi were second overall and Zain Racing 1 were third.

Batelco Racing were also the winners in the Pro class, finishing ahead of Zain Racing 1 and Ice Racing.

Finishing the season atop the Nations class were Go Gosaibi, while behind them were BeeSa Racing 1 and Zain Racing 2. Finally, in the Corporate class, taking home the top prize were Redline Racing 1. Texel Air were the runners-up, while in third place were Redline Racing 2.

The Bahrain Karting Sprints Championship had winners further split into two categories: the Bahrain Sprint Sodi World Series (BSSWS) and the Bahrain Rotax Mojo Max Challenge (BRMMC).

Abdulla Buhindi was the main man in the BSSWS. He was crowned the season’s champion, beating out Ali Baslar for the top prize. Mohammed Amin came third overall in the highly competitive championship.

In the BRMMC, winners were crowned in the Senior Max, Master Max, Junior Max, Mini Max and Micro Max classes.

Najashi Rashdan was the champion of the Senior Max category. He won ahead of Rashid Almuammari, while Hussain Hasan was third. Batelco Racing once again claimed a trophy after finishing as top Senior Max Entrants.

In the Master Max class, Isa Abdulla beat out Essa Aldosary for first place.

Sulaiman Al Kanderi followed suit in the Junior Max category, defeating Fahad Alkhaled for the number one spot while Abdullaj Aldossary came third. Batelco Racing were again winners as Junior Max Entrants.

Fahad Al Muqla took home the Mini Max crown ahead of Xanda Topp and Jacob Topp, who were second and third, respectively. Batelco Racing clinched first place as a Mini Max Entrant.

Finally, the Micro Max title was won by Shanthosh Kumar, who battled with Kalan Vine for first place. Gracie Grantham claimed third place, while Batelco Racing were once again winners, this time as Micro Max Entrants.

Aside from the trophy presentations, the end-of-season awards night was also an occasion for socialising and networking amongst all those in attendance.