Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 2024

Event Overview

BIC is set to celebrate its 20th anniversary next year, as the opening round of the 2024 season and its first-ever Saturday night race at the Home of Motorsport in the Middle East on 29 February to 2 March 2024.

View More


Due to exceptional demand, we have continued to expand our hospitality offerings. This year, we are delighted to offer The Dome Lounge by F1 Experiences, as well as The Champions Club, both tailor-made in response to the massive interest in hospitality options for the grand prix. In addition, the ultimate in world-class hospitality is available in The Paddock Cub Please note that Corporate boxes for 2024 are now sold out.

View More
Buy Hospitality Tickets

Lawson wins F2 season-opening Sprint Race

Lawson wins F2 season-opening Sprint Race

Liam Lawson opened the 2021 Formula 2 season with a fantastic victory in the first of two Sprint Races today at Bahrain International Circuit, being held in support of the Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix.

The Hitech Grand Prix driver started from third on the grid behind pole-sitter Theo Pourchaire of ART Grand Prix. But Lawson was able to make a lightning start and leap into the lead ahead of the first turn.

Lawson held on to the lead until the end, while fending off a strong challenge from Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala. He took the chequered flag after 23 laps with a 0.9secs gap ahead of his closest rival. David Beckmann of Charouz Racing System completed the podium placers in third a distant 14.3secs behind.

Robert Shwartzman was fourth, Oscar Piastri fifth, Christian Lundgaard sixth, Guanyu Zhou seventh and Dan Ticktum eighth.

Four cars from the 22-car grid did not finish the race, including Pourchaire, who stopped after 11 laps.

Pourchaire started on pole after teammate Juri Vips was disqualified from Friday’s Qualifying. Following the new rules for the 2021 season, Pourchaire inherited pole from Beckmann.

The second F2 Sprint Race is scheduled for this evening starting from 7.40pm. Vips will start from pole after finishing the first race 10th, as per the new rules.