Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 2024

Event Overview

BIC is set to celebrate its 20th anniversary next year, as the opening round of the 2024 season and its first-ever Saturday night race at the Home of Motorsport in the Middle East on 29 February to 2 March 2024.

View More


Due to exceptional demand, we have continued to expand our hospitality offerings. This year, we are delighted to offer The Dome Lounge by F1 Experiences, as well as The Champions Club, both tailor-made in response to the massive interest in hospitality options for the grand prix. In addition, the ultimate in world-class hospitality is available in The Paddock Cub Please note that Corporate boxes for 2024 are now sold out.

View More
Buy Hospitality Tickets

Russell shows class as he tops F1’s FP1 times

George Russell is making the most of his dream opportunity to drive for world champions Mercedes as he led the way this evening in the first Formula 1 Practice session of the Rolex Sakhir Grand Prix, as Bahrain International Circuit debuted its 3.543-kilometre Outer Track.

Russell, who is driving in place of seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton for the round, was not only quick to adapt to his new car, but was also quickest to get familiarised with the new layout.

He clocked a fastest lap of 54.546 seconds under BIC’s bright floodlights, while completing 49 laps in the 90-minute session.



Russell outpaced both the Red Bull Racing tandem of Max Verstappen and Alexander Albon as well as Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas, who were second through fourth, respectively.

Verstappen had a best lap 0.176secs slower, while Albon was 0.265secs off the leading pace and Bottas 0.322secs behind.

The top 10 also included the AlphaTauri’s Daniil Kvyat and Pierre Gasly in fifth and sixth, Renault’s Esteban Ocon in seventh, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel eighth, Daniel Ricciardo ninth in the other Renault car, and Charles Leclerc 10th in the second Ferrari.



The rest of F1’s first Practice classification was as follows: Racing Point’s Lance Stroll and Sergio Perez, McLaren’s Carlos Sainz, Alfa Romeo’s Kimi Raikkonen, Alfa Romeo’s Antonio Giovinazzi, McLaren’s Lando Norris, Haas’ Kevin Magnussen, Williams’ Nicholas Latifi, Haas’ Pietro Fittipaldi driving in place of Romain Grosjean, and Jack Aitken substituting for Russell at Williams.

F1 action returns to the Outer Track later tonight at 8.30pm for the weekend’s Second Practice session, also to be held over 90 minutes.