Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 2024

Event Overview

BIC is set to celebrate its 20th anniversary next year, as the opening round of the 2024 season and its first-ever Saturday night race at the Home of Motorsport in the Middle East on 29 February to 2 March 2024.

View More


Due to exceptional demand, we have continued to expand our hospitality offerings. This year, we are delighted to offer The Dome Lounge by F1 Experiences, as well as The Champions Club, both tailor-made in response to the massive interest in hospitality options for the grand prix. In addition, the ultimate in world-class hospitality is available in The Paddock Cub Please note that Corporate boxes for 2024 are now sold out.

View More
Buy Hospitality Tickets

Verstappen on pole for Bahrain’s 20th anniversary F1 race

Verstappen on pole for Bahrain’s 20th anniversary F1 race

Max Verstappen stormed to an historic pole position this evening for the Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 2024—the Kingdom’s 20th anniversary race at Bahrain International Circuit (BIC) in Sakhir.
The three-time defending world champion captured the leading grid position for Red Bull after topping an exciting qualifying held in chilly conditions under the bright floodlights of “The Home of Motorsport in the Middle East”.

Verstappen will be in front of the 20-car F1 field as the grand prix is held for the very first time on a Saturday night, making for an additional spectacle in celebrating “20 Years of a Modern Classic” in Bahrain.

Verstappen took pole for F1’s season-opening event with a fastest lap time of one minute 29.179 seconds in a hotly contested Q3. It was the 33rd pole of his career, and he has now started the season the way he finished his record-breaking 2023.

The Dutchman beat Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc (1:29.407) by just over two-tenths of a second, while Mercedes’ George Russell (1:29.485) qualified third just over three-tenths behind.

Carlos Sainz (1:29.507) will start from fourth in Ferrari’s second contender, while Red Bull’s Sergio Perez (1:29.537) will be fifth on the grid. Others starting in the top 10 and also competing in Q3 this evening are Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso (1:29.542) in sixth, McLaren’s Lando Norris (1:29.614) in seventh, teammate Oscar Piastri (1:29.683) in eighth, Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton (1:29.710) in ninth, and Nico Hulkenberg (1:30.502) for Haas in 10th.

Eliminated from Q2 tonight and set to start 11th to 15th, respectively, were RB’s Yuki Tsunoda, Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll, Williams’ Alexander Albon, RB’s Daniel Ricciardo, and Haas’ Kevin Magnussen. Leclerc was fastest in Q2 with a lap of 1:29.165.

Earlier, in Q1, Sainz topped the session with a mark of 1:29.909. Knocked out were Valtteri Bottas and Zhou Guanyu of Kick Sauber, Logan Sargeant of Williams, and Alpine’s Esteban Ocon and Pierre Gasly. They will start from 16th to 20th on the grid.

The F1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix is scheduled for a 6pm start on Saturday.