Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix 2024

Event Overview

BIC is set to celebrate its 20th anniversary next year, as the opening round of the 2024 season and its first-ever Saturday night race at the Home of Motorsport in the Middle East on 29 February to 2 March 2024.

View More


Due to exceptional demand, we have continued to expand our hospitality offerings. This year, we are delighted to offer The Dome Lounge by F1 Experiences, as well as The Champions Club, both tailor-made in response to the massive interest in hospitality options for the grand prix. In addition, the ultimate in world-class hospitality is available in The Paddock Cub Please note that Corporate boxes for 2024 are now sold out.

View More
Buy Hospitality Tickets

Drag racing champions crowned after action-packed season-finale on BIC strip

Bahrain International Circuit (BIC) crowned its newest group of champions over the weekend after hosting a hugely exciting season-finale in the 2019/2020 Bahrain Drag Racing Championship.

Four of the title winners were also victorious in the year’s fifth and last meeting, which capped another memorable campaign at BIC’s world-class quarter-mile strip—a proud member of the USA-based National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) Worldwide Network.

Among those to end their seasons both with their category’s championship and on top of their respective podiums were Bahrainis Hani Ali the Pro Mod class and Zakariya Alkuwari in the Outlaw Front-Wheel-Drive (FWD), along with Obaid Al Blooshi of the UAE in the Competition 4.5 and Mishari Alturki from Saudi Arabia in the Super Street Bikes.



Three other Bahraini drag racers were crowned champions for the season, including Hussain Abdulrahim Akbar in the Super Street V8 category, Nawaf Al Mannai in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder and Abdulla Aldoseri in the Index 10.5 class.

The list of title winners was rounded up by Kuwaiti Mohammed Suliman in the Pro Street V8, the UAE’s Mohammed Rashid in the Index 9.5, Kuwaiti Adnan Daifallah in the Index 8.5, Kuwaiti Mohammed Alawadh in the Pro Bikes, Saudi Khalid Aldoseri in the Index 8.5 Bikes, and Fadi Abu Jamus from Palestine in the Street Fight Bikes.

The newly crowned champions were honoured in an end-of-season gala and awards ceremony held at BIC the evening after the completion of the final round. Presenting the trophies was BIC Chief Executive Shaikh Salman bin Isa Al Khalifa.



Aside from their championship trophies, each title winner also took home a prestigious Wally. These distinct accolades are given out exclusively to champions in NHRA-sanctioned events around the world.

Meanwhile, four new awards were given out at the ceremony. Yousif Khamiri claimed the title of Rookie of the Season (Cars), while Sayed Yousif Faisal was Rookie of the Season (Bikes). Zuheer Khalil Meer was named Crew Chief of the Season, while Bapco Motorsports Team took home the Best Team of the Season award.

The ceremony was also attended by many high-ranking officials, participants, team members and their supporters.



Champions Hani Ali and Zakariya Alkuwari were two of six Bahraini drivers who defended their home turf in the season-finale. Also climbing to the top of the podium were Yousif Al Zayani in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder, Salah Salahuddin in the Pro Street V8, Hussain Mohammed in the Super Street V8, and Yousif Khamiri in the Index 9.5 category.

There were close to 140 racers competing in the year’s concluding event.

In the Pro Mod category, Ali posted an elapsed time of 3.752s at 323.08kph to defeat Saad Al Muran in their decisive battle. Mohammed Suliman completed the podium finishers in third. Alkuwari clinched the Outlaw FWD class after clocking a pass of 9.215 seconds at 280kph in the final race, where he beat Ahmed Zaman. Ahmed Alsaeei rounded out the podium placers.



Al Zayani followed suit in the Outlaw 6-Cylinder where he had a time of 4.514s at a top speed of 259.09kph. He beat Mohammed Haji in the decisive head-to-head, as new champion Nawaf Al Mannai claimed third place.

In the Pro Street V8, Salahuddin eked out a narrow victory over title-winner Mohammed Suliman after going for a winning run of 7.925s at 223.21kph in the final. Hamad Al Dusari finished third.

Mohammed was then the winner in the Super Street V8 after beating Nabeel Al Isa. Abdulla Khadada was classified third. Khamiri won the Index 9.5 class with a time of 9.549s at 222.13kph, beating Abdulwahab Al Mutaib who had to settle for second. Ali Abdulrahman took third place.



Other competitors to come away with wins in the championship finale were from the Saudi, Kuwait, the UAE and the US.

In the Index 10.5, Saudi Thamer Al Khaldey won against Mohammed Al Hamad in the final. Al Khaldey had a 10.615s winning time at 179.14kph. Abdulla Aldoseri was third. Kuwaiti Fahad Khadada won the Index 8.5 class in 8.796s at 234.27kph. He beat Saleh Janahi in the final. Hani Ali came third in the category. Competition 4.5 champion Obaid Al Blooshi won in the season finale after posting a mark of 4.525s at 245.22kph to beat Hisham Almulla who had to settle for the runner-up spot. Ali Haji was classified third.

In the bikes classes, Saudi’s Theeb Alqahtani was the winner in the Street Fight Bikes. He had a time of 9.545s at 246.36kph in the final, where he beat Waleed Albadeen. Fadi Abu Jamus took third place to seal his title.



The Index 8.5 Bike category was claimed by Kuwaiti Bader bin Eidan in 8.539s at 264.99kph. Khalid Aldoseri came second, which was enough to seal his championship, while Fadi Abu Jamus took his second podium of the night in third place.

Saudi’s Mishari Alturki capped his title run in the Super Street Bikes class with a 4.403s at 270.76kph, preventing rival bin Eidan from claiming a season-ending double. Mothana Abu Thiab finished in third place.

Christopher Dominique from the USA rounded out triumphant riders, ending the season on a high note after taking the Pro Bikes class in their final where he faced Bradley McCoy. Dominique was the winner in a time of 4.062s at 279.03kph. Meshal Al Saber completed the top three finishers.

The 2019/2020 Bahrain Drag Racing Championship featured five rounds in all, and it attracted participants from all over the world. It was organised in cooperation between BIC, the Bahrain Motor Federation, the Bahrain Drag Racing Club and the Bahrain Motorcycle Club.